## **District Meetings Notice**

## Districts 1, 4, & 7 Now Open for Director Nominations

This year, Districts 1 (Tom Frisch), 4 (Doug Diekmann), and 7 (Mark Pearson) director terms are up for election for a 3 year term. All nomination committee meetings shown below will begin at noon with a light lunch provided.

If you are unable to make the District Meeting to be nominated and are interested in becoming a director, you can also be placed on the ballot for your district by petition (obtain ten (10) signatures from members who reside within your district). Directors from these three districts are elected at our annual meeting held March 23, 2023. Please call our office if you are interested in more information on becoming a director, or if you are unsure of what district you reside in.

District 3: Wednesday, Jan. 25, 2023, at the Campbell Community Center, Campbell, MN

Districts 4 & 5: Thursday, Jan. 26, 2023, at Big G's Pub & Grub, Beardsley, MN

Districts 7, 8, & 9: Monday, Jan. 30, 2023, at the Rosholt Community Center, Rosholt, SD

Districts 1, 2, & 6: Tuesday, Jan. 31, 2023, at Traverse Electric's Office/ Warehouse, Wheaton, MN

The cooperative's bylaws state the following: Section 3. Nominations and Election.

- (a) Each year and at least 30 days before the annual meeting of the members, a meeting of the members shall be held in each district which a vacancy will exist on the Board of Directors at the next annual meeting. Such a meeting shall be called at the time and place within the district as may be designated by the Board of Directors. Notice of the district meetings shall be given by the Secretary of the Cooperative by mailing a notice thereof to each and every member residing within the district not less than seven (7) days previous to the day of such meeting. At least five (5) members, who reside within the district, present in person, shall constitute a quorum for the transaction of business. The Board of Directors shall appoint a director to act as temporary chairman of the meeting and until a chairman and secretary have been elected by the members present. The members from said district present at such meeting shall nominate one or more members from the district as candidates for the Board of Directors. Nominations may not be closed until all the members present have had an opportunity to nominate. A list of nominations for directors shall be immediately prepared, signed by the Chairman and Secretary, and posted at the principal place of business of the Cooperative.
- (b) Nominations by petition. Any ten (10) or more members from any district in which a vacancy will exist on the Board of Directors at the next annual meeting may make other nominations in writing over their signatures not later than 25 days before the annual meeting and the secretary shall post the same at the same place where the list of nominations made by the district meetings is posted.
- (c) A ballot marked "Ballot for Directors, District Number" shall be prepared for each district in which a vacancy will exist on the Board of Directors at the next annual meeting, which ballot shall contain the number of the district, the names of all nominees from the district so posted, alphabetically

arranged, and be distinctive from the ballots for the other districts by color, which ballot shall be delivered to the members of said district, either by mailing or otherwise before the annual meeting or given to said members at the annual meeting. In every election, the nominee from each district in which a vacancy exists receiving the largest number of votes shall be elected to the Board of Directors. In case of a tie vote for director, the incumbent shall remain on the board until the next annual meeting, and the procedure for nomination and election shall be repeated and a director elected at the following annual meeting for the balance of the three-year term. If there is a tie vote and no incumbent, the vacancy can be filled by the directors for the period until the next annual meeting. To notwithstanding anything in this Section contained, failure to comply with any of the provisions of this Section shall not affect in any manner whatsoever the validity of any election of directors. Members may not nominate from the floor of an annual or special meeting of the members an individual to run for election as a director candidate.

(d) Uncontested Elections. Notwithstanding anything in these bylaws or applicable procedural rules to the contrary, if for any director election there is only one nominee for a board position so that the nominee is running unopposed, ballots need not be provided by mail to the members in that district, and the election shall be made by the chairperson of the member meeting entertaining a motion to elect the single candidate by a voice vote, show of hands, or other appropriate means.

## **District 7 Director Seat Notice**

Mark Pearson who has served as our District 7 Director since 1996 has decided to NOT seek reelection in 2023. His term will expire on March 23, 2023 at our annual meeting. If you are interested in representing District 7 and reside within that district, please attend your District Meeting on January 30, 2023 at noon at the Rosholt Community Center, or call our office for more information on obtaining signatures by petition if you are unable to attend to be a director candidate.